What's Your Love Language? | Wedding Boudoir Photography

Whether you’ve been with your partner for five months or five years, it’s always a good time to talk about love! It turns out that everybody expresses love differently. Isn’t that cool? There are five love languages according to this popular book.
They also have a fun quiz just for couples so you can find out what your love language is and how it matches with your partners! Come back after you take the quiz. I’ll wait! Okay, ready? Today I want to talk about expressing love, no matter what your love language is.

Words of Affirmation

If your love language is words of affirmation, then you love talking! Having conversations with your partner is important to you. You’re more likely to enjoy a quiet dinner in with plenty of time to discuss your day than a night out at the movies.

If your fiance’s love language is words of affirmation, then get into the good morning/good night texts! They will love it. Take a few extra seconds to think of a personalized compliment. They’ll carry it around with them all day. And this one is good manners, but especially important for this love language - say thank you.

Acts of Service

This love language is all about showing love through doing. Doing chores that you hate doing *cough* taking out the trash *cough*, or doing something before you realized you needed to do it, like take the car in for an oil change or stopping specially for food that you like.

If your partner’s love language is acts of service, then think of some things that they always complain about doing. Are they something that you can take on once in a while? It might mean more to them than you think!

love language

Physical Touch

This one’s easy because it’s the love language that we all think of first when we think about romantic relationships. Holding hands while out and about, embraces, all that good stuff. If your love language is physical touch, then these things are even more important to you, and communicating that to your partner is important if their love language is different.

Now I’m curious - are your partner and your love languages the same? Let me know in the comments below!

Quality Time

Quality time is just what it sounds like - spending time together! For this love language a night spent with Netflix is totally an expression of love which I am all about. This can be a hard one to prioritize in the age of computers everywhere, so making an effort to put the phones away and simply be together is definitely an act of love! If your fiance’s love language is quality time then schedule some more date nights. No need to be fancy, just order take out and hang out!

Giving Gifts

Giving gifts is all about thinking about someone when they’re not there. It isn’t about bringing home crazy big things all the time, but little things like a piece of candy that you like. If you want to give your partner a gift that they’ll remember forever and stokes romance, I think a boudoir photo book is a great idea! It shows that you took the time out to do something nice for yourself and your partner, and it will look lovely on the shelf.

What’s Your Love Language?

Take the quiz and let me know in the comments! I’m super excited to know!

Anne CaseyComment